Go back to all news

2020 ORCA Winners Announced

date 9th September 2020
user Post by

2020 Outstanding Radio Creative Awards (ORCA) winners have today been announced.

The Grand ORCA winners for 2020 are Tim Thach and Brooke Wiley from Stanley St for their Rebel Sport campaign ‘Find Your Rhythm’. The pair will receive a $10,000 cash prize and a $10,000 radio campaign.

People’s Choice Award winners for the second year running are David Shirley and Melina Fiolitakis from FCB for their PAK’nSAVE campaign ‘Savey’. The duo will receive a $2,000 cash prize and a $5,000 radio campaign.

Judging was based on four criteria: creativity, execution, effectiveness and innovation. Representing varied disciplines across the industry, the panel consisted of James Mok (VMLY&R), Bex Radford (BC&F Dentsu), Leisa Wall (FCB), JP Twaalfhoven (Clemenger BBDO) and Dr Matt Mollgaard (AUT University).

Media Design School students James McCulloch and Kathryn Prince took top honours in the Student ORCA for their mock campaign Voting Choir – aimed at getting young New Zealanders to vote.

The Student ORCA judging panel consisted of Karen Maurice-O’Leary (Facebook Creative Shop), Antony Wilson (Creative) plus Matt Williams and Freddie Coltart from DDB.

Each year The Radio Bureau set out to recognise outstanding radio creative with the ORCA. TRB aims to encourage creatives in the advertising industry to let their talents loose and explore the many options afforded by radio.

“It’s fantastic to hear the personality of New Zealand brands coming to life in these ads. We had more ORCA entries this year than ever before – a true testament to the power of radio even in difficult times”. Says TRB General Manager, Peter Richardson.

Want to see more?

Check out one of our similar news articles below.